Kerala Tourism is back with the second edition of Champion Boat League

Industry Watch | July 26, 2022 | News

Champion Boat League Kerala Tourism

Kerala Tourism hosts the second edition of Champion Boat League also known as Snake Boat Race from September 4 to November 26, 2022, after a haitus of two years. The league will be conducted in over 12 different venues across five districts in Kerala, with the aim to conserve and promote Kerala’s traditional festival, also to create an annual sporting event and showase the beauty of its backwaters to the world.

The inauguration of the snakeboat race will be held in the Punnamada lake in Alappuzha alongside the iconic Nehru Trophy Boat Race on 4 September. The league organised on the lines of Indian Premier League cricket will conclude with the President’s Trophy Boat Race to be held in the pristine waters of the Ashtamudi lake in Kollam on 26 November. Though launched in 2019, CBL could not be conducted in 2020 and 2021 due to the pandemic.

The CBL will have half of the races in Alappuzha district, two each in Kollam and Ernakulam districts and one each in Thrissur and Kottayam districts. The venues in Alappuzha are Pulinkunnu, Kainakary, Karuvatta, Pandanadu (Chengannur) and Kayamkulam, besides the district headquarters. Piravom and Marine Drive will be the venues in Ernakulam while Kollam town and Kallada will be the venues in Kollam district. Thazhathangadi in Kottayam and Kottapuram near Kodungallur in Thrissur district are the other two venues.

For editorial related queries, reach us at

The event features the iconic snake boats will be held from September 4 to November 26 in 12 venues across state, with the aim to conserve and promote Kerala’s tradition

Subscribe to Newsletter



Twitter Feed

Facebook Connect

Recent Headlines


View All


View All


View All