Star Vijay establishes a new IP in Woman Achievers Awards

| Marketing | March 9, 2012 | News

Star Vijay initiated the inaugural edition of the Woman Achievers Awards on March 4 at the Besant Nagar Beach in Chennai. The awards aimed to celebrate excellence and felicitate deserving achievers from diverse fields who have made extraordinary achievements and stand as an example to the aspiring youth. The event was executed by the BTL activation division of Star Vijay.

The event was promoted by urging women across schools, colleges and corporate companies who had passion and done something brave to participate. Even housewives were eligible to register for the event. The ceremony felicitated winners across all categories like medicine, education, entertainment and many more. Around 1,200 women were engaged through the event.

The award function was held across 15 categories such as Excellence in the field of Medicine, Excellence in the field of Culinary Arts, Excellence in the field of Fashion, Excellence in the field of Entrepreneurship, Excellence in the field of Public Service, Bravery Award, Excellence in the field of Sports, and Excellence in the field of Architecture, among others. These achievers have identified a few aspiring young women with whom they will spend a few days, in order to share perspectives, let them observe how they work and understand how they succeeded. The event will telecast on March 11 at 2.30 PM on Star Vijay.

The awards were given out to Dr. Kamal Selvaraj, MD DGO PhD, Obstetrician and Gynecologist, Associate Director GG Hospital, for Excellence in the field of Medicine; Mrs. Mallika Badrinath for Excellence of Culinary Arts; Designer Rehane for Excellence of Fashion; Archana Kalpathi, CEO, AGS Cinemas, for Excellence of Entrepreneurship; Meenakshi Vijayakumar, India's first fire woman officer, for Excellence of Public Service; Priya Ramachandra for Bravery Award; Kavitha Selvaraj, gold medal winner of Kabadi, for Excellence of Sports; Dr. Pooni M Concessao for Excellence of Architecture; Mrs. B.K.K. Pillai, Chairperson, Shrine Velankanni Institutions, for Excellence of Education; Anita Ratnam for Excellence of Dance; Mrs. Latha C. Mohan, Kanya, for Excellence of Beauty & Hair Industry; Actor Abhinaya for Excellence of Acting; Mrs. Vanitha Mohan, Vice Chairman Pricol, for Excellence of Social Service; and Mrs. K.S. Chitra for Excellence of Singing. The Lifetime Achievement award was given to 91 year old flutist Mrs. Saraswati Amma.

Commenting on the objective behind this initiative, K. Sriram, GM, Vijay TV said: "This will be an annual tent pole in our events calendar and we will bring it back with a bigger and better version, based on our learning, reviews and feedback that we have been receiving for the first edition. We want these awards and the awardees to act as an inspiration to millions of young women across Tamil Nadu to passionately chase their dreams. These awards are different from many other women achiever awards as the awardees identify the future me and commit to mentor them for a year. This is how the achievers of today make a commitment to change the lives of others by taking aspiring youngsters under their wings. They also provide a platform to honour and recognize women achievers from different fields like sports, performing arts, public service, business and many more."

The inaugural event, which took place in Chennai on March 4, was executed by the BTL activation division of Star Vijay.

Subscribe to Newsletter



Twitter Feed

Facebook Connect

Recent Headlines

Entertainers Connect

View All

Experiential Venues

View All